Pilgrimpace's Blog


two doctors
October 21, 2010, 3:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

George Macaulay Trevelyan wrote in 1913 that he had two doctors: “My left leg and my right”.

“After a day’s walking, everything has twice its usual value”.

Thanks to an article by Martin Wainwright in last week’s Guardian for these quotes, along with a scientific study that walking nine miles a week helps against dementia.  I certainly know that walking helps my spiritual, mental and physical health.

I don’t know how this helps with yesterday’s Public Spending Review; still:

Don’t mourn; organize!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

But it can be incredibly difficult to persuade other people that it is OK to walk! This evening I took the bus to my Welsh class, about 6 miles away. There is no bus back after the class and I have relied on lifts to get me near to home for the last three weeks. No students this week from my area. The tutor asked how I would get home and the cries of “You can’t do that” when I said I would walk, were vociferous!
I find it hard to be gracious in refusing a lift when people are very persistent sometimes.
I made it home in just under 2 hours. Most of it on a cycle path. A full moon. A hand cranked torch. Dry weather. The occasional spiders web in my face. It was actually a very nice walk and reminds me of the time I couldn’t walk at all.

Comment by Margaret

Excellent – thanks for sharing this Margaret. It is interesting how such natural things have become profoundly counter-cultural. And I’m so glad you can walk now.

Comment by pilgrimpace

[…] through as many parks and green spaces as possible, while keeping a reasonably straight line.  My two doctors walk away a […]

Pingback by new year bank holiday « Pilgrimpace's Blog




Leave a Reply

