Pilgrimpace's Blog


rooted and earth-bound
June 3, 2011, 8:59 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Spending a couple of hours walking through Worcestershire, I found my senses engaging with the landscape, drinking in colour, shape, texture and smell.  My camera helped slow down and look.

A little later I found this thought in Jennifer Lash’s excellent On Pilgrimage:

I felt increasingly sad to be moving on.  It made me realise why places of pilgrimage give rise to such terrible souvenirs.  There is such a temptation to take something fragile from a place with you.  But such instincts probably signify a too rooted, earth-bound ego, and not sufficient trust in the transient unity of things.  I suppose it’s like learning to look at rather than pick wild flowers.

There’s lots to think about here.  From my perspective, as a Christian committed to the Incarnation, rootedness and being bound to the earth are fundamentally good; possessiveness of things is not.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

