Pilgrimpace's Blog


light shed
January 22, 2012, 3:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

light shed

photo by halfmoon

Horizontal sun

crosses hills and quarries

on, over the light shed,

through trees onto dale

rolling into haze.

 

Here, at the top of the climb

in pause of looking

that question of inward

and outward journeys

echoes combine.

 

Winter dark

trudged out

 

Gift of light

at darkest time of year

 

that moment

something glimpsed for now

 

beckon deep

beauty cold severe.

 

 

– Andy Delmege, Wenlock Edge, January 2012

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh I like this one! Especially the phrase Winter dark trudged out!! Very good!

Comment by karin

Thanks Karin! I really feel after the workshop I went on recently, my writing – or at least my confidence in my poetic voice – has really come on. I’m interested to see how things develop!

Comment by pilgrimpace

I’m with Karin, Andy — I really liked ‘Winter dark / trudged out’!

Comment by The Solitary Walker

Thanks Robert. I’m really pleased with this poem. The penultimate line isn’t right yet, but I’ve enjoyed the process of writing this and been really affirmed that I can write poetry. It’s really interesting for me that both you and Karin have liked that couplet; I guess it’s born out of a lot of walking and trudging!

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

Good verse!

Comment by Watching Seasons

thanks – I’m still not happy with the last stanza, but it’ll do!

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

