Pilgrimpace's Blog


lenten journey – five

The Lenten Journey has taken an unexpected direction in the last few days with a bad bout of food poisoning.  A fruit of this has been some time for good reading.  I am more and more convinced that I learn most about being human and the values of humanity from novels.  The authors who speak to me most of this are Dostoevsky, Patrick White and Graham Greene.  Has anyone got any other suggestions?

Of these, the easiest and best to read in a fragile state is Greene.  I have just read again one of my favourites: Monsignor Quixote (although I fear my copy has come to the end of its life, not least with pages 33 to 60 falling out of the book and into the bath).

I’ve a few quotes marked to share soon when I have time – although I am also preparing a talk for the Lent Course at the Cathedral on Thursday …

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, I love those three novelists you mention. And I would add: DH Lawrence, Thomas Hardy, JC Powys, Thomas Mann, Charles Dickens. I agree so much about learning ‘about being human and the values of humanity’ from novels. I feel just the same.

Comment by The Solitary Walker

Thanks Robert – yes and George Eliot too.

Comment by pilgrimpace

PS Get better soon!

Comment by The Solitary Walker




Leave a Reply

