Pilgrimpace's Blog


lord, how long sunset
April 11, 2012, 5:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

 

Lord, how long sunset and moonset

against the bare hill at my window?

How long springset, winterset against this heart

before it finds the opening and flies?

If I were a fisher I would cast my net.

If I were a prophet I would know.

If I were a pilgrim I would start

wayfaring now before the longing dies.

I have thought and I have thought

and I gnarl to rest at last

where flesh and soul were poorly bought

with all the world high-stepping past.

Lord, You bring my certain soul to doubt,

spoil heart’s home, that they must set out.

– David Hopes

This poem is from the excellent collection of mystical poems ‘Into the Heart of the Fire’ edited by Mary E Giles and Kathryn Hohlwein

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ok…can we please have a like or a love it button here! 🙂

Comment by karin

It’s good Karin, isn’t it!

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

