Pilgrimpace's Blog


trespass
April 22, 2012, 5:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

This week marks the 80th anniversary of the 1932 Mass Trespass on Kinder Scout which paved the way for working people to be able to enjoy their free time roaming in the open countryside near the industrial cities.  There is a wealth of information about the Trespass and how it is being commemorated here.

Such struggles in the past are vitally important for us now.  I know how much being able to spend my day off walking in the countryside means to me.  How I am re-shaped, re-made, re-created.  That I return home feeling better than I did at the start of the day, that I am able to appreciate and savour my life and my work all the more.  It is a vital thing that everyone has the chance to flourish in this way, that it is not dependent on birth or luck.  I recommit myself to the struggle to bring fullness of life, laughter and joy to all.  Will you join me?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

