Pilgrimpace's Blog


middle march 6 – broadway, stanway, snowshill
September 15, 2012, 10:51 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s been very busy with a parish pilgrimage to Walsingham, a Strengthening Estates Ministry Conference on Spiritual Formation and Lay Training, as well as a heap of very testing work.  Yesterday was a crisp, sunny day and Mike and I went for a walk.  I’ve missed out a section of the Middle March from Evesham to Broadway which I will fill in later; I want to walk that myself and it may be largely a ‘there and back in a straight line’ day.  Until I get near Malvern and the train stations there I will be doing day walks using the car as public transport takes too long for it to be feasible.

We walked along the bottom of the Cotswold escarpment, resting at the small ancient churches before climbing through Lidcombe Wood above Stanway.  At a display board in a hut I discovered that the estate was given to the Benedictines of Tewkesbury by Odo and Dodo in the eighth century.  I learned about tures (a word that had fallen into disuse and was only known by ten people a hundred years ago.  We saw the Stanway Fountain, the tallest gravity fountain in Europe, and made for Snowshill and a pint of Donnington BB in the excellent Snowshill Arms (3 pilgrim points, although it is stronger than it tastes).

A slow, measured walk of about 13 miles.  Time to relax, to talk things through.  Plenty of time to rest and the enjoyment of sitting on the scarp in autumn sun making a brew.

I’m reaching for the last stanza of a poem (I’m very happy with the first two).  What do you think of this?

There is a restfulness

climbing this hill

I see reflected

in the kestrel’s wing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

