Pilgrimpace's Blog


more nourishment
November 23, 2012, 7:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Continuing on the theme of nourishment for bad times, I was reminded of these quotes in the last few days.  For me they complement the ones in the previous post and give me some hope, something to live by, and a sense of the next steps.

Where there is no love, pour love in, and you will draw out love

– St John of the Cross

I spent a long time reflecting on John’s teaching on love and prayer as I walked alone through La Mancha

In bleak and difficult times
you must keep something beautiful in your heart

– Pascal

At its heart, the journey of each life is a pilgrimage,
through unforeseen sacred places that enlarge and enrich the soul.

-John O’Donohue
4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good quotes all, but I have always been especially moved by Pascal’s advice that, in difficult times, we need to keep something beautiful in our hearts.

Comment by George

yes George – it’se so important, isn’t it. And then there is the matter of what ‘beautiful’ is …

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

3-10-13 I am reading “St.John of the Cross” by Bede Frost, a reprint of the Hodder & Stoughton edition of 1937.
Parts of this book are hard to read when she goes off on rambling tangents that sound more like dictated personal devotionals. I don’t question her sincerity; I am very sure that my point of view is interfering my ability to understand many of her ideas the way she intended.
Last night, I came across a passage that I returned to three times within an hour. As difficult as it is to understand John’s way, last night Bede Frost gave me an insight.
(p.168) ..on the journey from self to God…the reason why the purification of the soul, whether in this life or in Purgatory, must be so drastic…
John of the Cross,”The reason is that all the imperfections and disorders of the sensitive part of the soul have their strength and root in the spirit wherein all habits, good or bad, are subjected, and thus until these are purged the rebellions and depravities of the senses cannot be entirely purged.”
(Dark Night II, iii, I)

Although I have been studying John of the Cross for over 30 years, this idea has finally hit home.

Comment by Hanque Amundsen

Thank you Hanque. There is something very important in paying attention to these passages that speak to us very deeply. The best books I have found on John are Peter Tyler’s ‘St John of the Cross’ and Iain Matthew’s ‘The Impact of God’

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

