Pilgrimpace's Blog


lenten journey 7

I’ve been living a bit with the themes of living with questions, of waiting, of not knowing, or unknowing.  I find liminal times hard and tough but they are so important.

I have remembered a few days in a Cistercian Monastery in Spain where I had paused:

IMGP0820

The sheer granite cold gripping its corridors

hid the warmth of welcome at the monastery.

Throughout the day and night

I made my way to a high perch

from which I followed

slow Spanish chant

in the dark Church,

each Psalm succeeded utterly

by pause.

 

Part of me was bored,

eager to rush on;

now I find myself

returning often in my mind.

 

I linger

creep up slowly

approaching carefully

as if on all fours

and finally peer over

the silent edge.

 

I’ve been thinking about poetic wisdom on all this, Wendell Berry’s ‘The Real Work‘:

It may be that when we no longer know what to do
we have come to our real work,
 
and that when we no longer know which way to go
we have come to our real journey.
 
The mind that is not baffled is not employed.
 
The impeded stream is the one that sings.

or RS Thomas ‘Kneeling

Prompt me God, but not yet, the meaning is in the waiting

I am also prompted to remember that I may be one to dwell a bit much in the places of dark questioning and that it is important to know the time to step out of these into the light, although I am sometimes afraid to do this.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

