Pilgrimpace's Blog


Easter

It can be tempting to think that the Lenten Journey has finished with the arrival of Easter.  Certainly there is a different tone as we meet the Risen Christ.  Yet, as George rightly points out in his comment on my previous post, suffering and injustice fall disproportionately on much of the world.  Here, on this freezing Easter Monday, we enter a time of shame on welfare where many of those with least (a good number of whom are in work) are hit by welfare cuts.

I am reminded this year very strongly that Easter commits us to a way of life, a way of Easter living.  We see some of this in the story we have been living through these past days.  On Thursday night I and many other priests and deacons washed our people’s feet following the pattern of love and service shown to us at the Last Supper.  We saw this very  beautifully in the action of Pope Francis washing the feet of young offenders.  The challenge and grace now is to go on living the same.  If Easter is to mean anything it must be to free us for a new way of living, a way that brings love and forgiveness into the world.  How can we do this practically?

Argentine Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio washes feet of shelter residents during 2008 Mass at church in Buenos Aires

There is something of vital importance here too about small, vulnerable and broken things.  Love does not have to be (is not?) big and powerful.  When the disciples met the Risen Christ they recognised him by his wounds.

window090307_02

On Friday I had the privilege of being present at the Learning Disabilities Chaplaincy Easter Service at Monyhull.  One of the women there sang from her seat:

I will praise the Lord
I will praise the Lord
I will praise the Lord
With my whole life
With my whole life
I will praise the Lord
Let all God’s people
Praise the Lord
This was utterly beautiful, pure gift.  The Easter journey continues.  Let’s live some loving and practical compassion.
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Simple and beautiful post Andy. I came here in inspiration for my next pilgrimage and I found this touching post accompanied with the moving image of Pope “Francisco” (who is not only from my country but also from the congregation where I went to school.) Your words: “The challenge and grace now is to go on living the same. If Easter is to mean anything it must be to free us for a new way of living, a way that brings love and forgiveness into the world” were the inspiration I was looking for. Thanks for your insight, and for sharing it.
Warm hug from Buenos Aires.
Cris M

Comment by Cris M

Thanks Cris. Let us know how you get on with the pilgrimage

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

