Pilgrimpace's Blog


on the beach
April 2, 2013, 9:01 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I’m proud to have a couple of poems in the new issue of The Passionate Transitory which can be read here.  I’m really looking forward to reading all of the poems once my brain is recovered from Holy Week exhaustion (I’m sating myself with the joy of European detective fiction at the moment).

Here is one of my poems in the journal:

On the Beach

.

Her voice cuts sharply through the haze

“Come in, come here with me:

the water’s lovely; just see!”

.

Stepping back, I run hard and jump

adjusting my angle,

the dive becoming a bomb.

.

If the sea proves itself freezing,

as I know it will, I’ll make sure

God gets well and truly soaked.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I must kick harder now every day in the freezing water to assist in soaking God..I love it, keep up good work.

Comment by unadara

Thanks – one of the few problems of living here is that it is a very long way from the sea!

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

Worcester & Birmingham Canal, Andy..?

Comment by The Solitary Walker

I’m two minutes from the Stratford Upon Avon here – and I guess a ten or fifteen minute swim to its confluence with the Birmingham and Worcester. Entering the water by the bomb technique would be hazardous…

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

