Pilgrimpace's Blog


in the spring
May 19, 2013, 2:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

After the long winter, a time of illness and exhaustion, and then some hard yards at work, I have managed to emerge into the Spring.  Here are some photos of time spent walking in Worcestershire while spending 24 hours at Glasshampton for reflection and prayer.

20130517_152950

 

20130517_151944

 

20130517_152445

20130516_153323

This ladder is wonderful. Not sure if I’d want to ascend it, but it is so suggestive.

And there may be news of pilgrimage soon …

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The last picture reminds me of these lines:

“My instep arch not only keeps the ache
It keeps the pressure of a ladder round.”

After Apple Picking, Robert Frost

Comment by Chris Fewings

thanks Chris – sorry not to reply sooner. As you will see when I post later today, I have been walking through apple orchards, so a wonderfully apt poem that I had not read before (and I will save it now, like a good apple, for the autumn)

Comment by pilgrimpace

Reblogged this on St. Val the Eccentric and commented:
Just because these photos are beautiful. Enjoy the peace to be found just looking at them. Blessings.

Comment by Val

thanks Val,
Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

I calls ’em like I sees ’em. It’s been 80°F to 100°F for at least a month now, and we haven’t had adequate rain in at least two years. The color green is much-missed, but not in God’s color palate for Southern California.

Comment by Val

It’s certainly green here at the moment after an exceptionally hard winter, which makes it feel all the better. I’ve not been to California (only once to Oregon and Washington twenty years ago) but I spent the end of the summer three years ago walking through southern and central Spain – I guess this has a similar palate

Comment by pilgrimpace

Could be, I’ve never been so I couldn’t say. I’ve heard we’re similar to parts of Italy, Greece, and Turkey. I’m stuck in the nothing-but-paved suburban nightmare that is the San Fernando Valley. I am certain the south of Spain beautifully lacks the Los Angeles car culture. I like to drive as much as any, but I prefer mountain backroads to L.A. freeways. Still, all that traffic makes finding a peaceful place to walk a bit tricky at times. Peace profaned by “progress.”

Comment by Val

Hi Andy, Glasshampton is lovely. We went for a walk up the lickeys loads and loads of bluebells peace and quiet etc . Just wish id worn a pair of decent shoes och!!!
Caroline and Mike Wood
Walking is a time to be still with God!!

Comment by Caroline Wood

Thanks Caroline – it certainly is lovely. What a beautiful way to think about walking. I hope your feet are better now. I’m just back from finishing my walk to Canterbury – will blog about it soon.

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

