Pilgrimpace's Blog


desmond tutu
October 6, 2013, 3:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Over the past weeks I’ve had the deep privilege of sharing deeply with folk from Church in several small groups each week as part of Jesus Shaped People.  This had often been at a very profound and beautiful level, for example, as people reflected on what it might mean to be a Church that responds to Jesus’ command to not worry.

It’s got me thinking about who has been influential on me and why.  A key figure for me (who I have only met for 5 minutes, but who helped me sort out the direction my life should go in) was Archbishop Desmond Tutu.  I’ve been re-reading John Allen’s excellent biography of Tutu, Rabble Rouser for Peace, and enjoyed this passage which showed Desmond Tutu, in his childhood, that society could be built in a just way:

This white man in a big black hat and a white flowing cassock (either Trevor Huddleston or Raymond Raynes) swept past … You could have knocked me down with a feather … He doffed his hat to my mother.  Now that seemed like a perfectly normal thing I suppose for him, but to me, it was almost mind-boggling, that a white man could doff his hat to my mother, a black woman, really a non-entity in South Africa’s terms.

from Wikipedia Commons

from Wikipedia Commons

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have great admiration of Archbishop Tutu. The Truth and Reconciliation Commission established at the end of white rule in South Africa was a masterpiece of justice, one that was premised upon forgiveness in the finest Christian tradition, rather than retribution.

Comment by George

Thanks George – yes, it was of exceptional importance

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

