Pilgrimpace's Blog


gap year
November 13, 2013, 4:46 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Meenakshi, my daughter, has just been selected by Project Trust for a Gap Year.  Once she has finished her exams in the summer, she will be travelling to Cambodia where she will work for a year doing social care and teaching of children.  The plan is then to come back and study Social Policy at University.

This is fantastic news and I am incredibly excited for her (as well as a little bit of sadness as I realise my ‘little girl’ is definitely big and will be off soon).  I’m also jealous and wishing that I had done something like this when I was that age.

I’ll be following and living this particular journey vicariously.  Meenakshi blogs here – this should be a good way of following her journey.

She has to raise £5600 towards the trip.  She will be setting up an online giving page very soon, as well as undertaking some really interesting fundraising activities.  I’ll give details of this as soon as it is ready in case any of you want to give.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Fantastic! Last year my daughter, Bethan took a gap year, half of it au pairing in Munich. Nothing as exciting as yours but it was an important “growing up year”.

Comment by stephencwinter

I’m sure she’ll have a wonderful and rewarding time.

Comment by The Solitary Walker

thanks both – she really will! UCAS Application Form gone in now too, so exciting times.

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

