Pilgrimpace's Blog


compression and distortion
November 25, 2013, 3:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

“I was carrying a travelling permit obtained for me by the Office of Information, importantly styled ‘Ordre de Mission’, in which I was described as ‘Lewis Norman, Ecrivain Anglais, habilite par M. Jonathan Cape, Thirty Bedford Square’.  This paper had to be frequently renewed, the description suffering in consequence both compression and distortion.  In the end I became ‘Louis Norman Thirsty Bedford’, and it was under this agreeable title that I finished my journeyings.”

– Norman Lewis, A Dragon Apparent

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Roland and I were” Mr and Mrs Rotten Rock” on arrival in a hotel in India some 24 years ago.

Comment by Margaret

I’ve been trying to come up with a suitable reply, but can’t. I have been laughing a lot 😉

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

