Pilgrimpace's Blog


offa

I managed to get out for a brisk and testing walk yesterday.  I was dropped off in Clun and walked to Bishops Castle by way of the Shropshire Way, Offa’s Dyke and Kerry Ridgeway.  The photos I managed to take in between the showers don’t do justice to the unremitting steepness of the first three quarters of the route.

20140405_133611

Nothing especially high, just up and down.  I met Bharti in Bishops Castle at a very humane pub.  Their kitchen was closed, but I was instructed to go to the chip shop down the road and bring the fish back to eat with our drinks.

20140405_121718

I’ll be back on Offa’s Dyke at the end of next month.  Roland and I are planning to walk it north from Welshpool and end up at Holywell.

And I am seriously drawn to some Welsh walking next time I get a Sabbatical and time for a long walk.  How does the Cistercian Way sound to you?  Could be quite a pilgrimage I think – and quite a contrast to Spanish Caminos.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The Cistercian Way: sounds good to me, and nice to have the abbeys as theme and focus. It also seems to cover a wide and varied cross-section of Wales.

Comment by The Solitary Walker

thanks Robert – yes, it does look very tempting

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

