Pilgrimpace's Blog


new paths

I’ve got a bit of news to share.  Over the past four years, part of my ministry has been as Priest in Charge of St Gabriel’s, Weoley Castle.  I have loved it: the people, the community, my colleagues, the quality of life we have managed to live.  As part of a very talented team, we have managed to turn the Church around after a period of decline.

imgp1481

One of the consequences of this is that the workload has increased.  I have been concerned about how I can do this half-time when my colleague Kate leaves in a year or so.  Fortunately, the Bishop agrees.  So I am to leave St Gabriel’s at the end of this month.  Kate will look after it for a year and then there will be a new full-time Vicar.

I have spent the last week or so telling people and have a few weeks now of taking my leave (I hope I’ve told everyone I should – I apologise if I have missed you).

I will carry on at St Bede’s, Brandwood.  I’ve some work to do over the summer revising Jesus Shaped People so that other Churches here can use it, as well as recharging batteries.  There is a period of discernment as it is worked out what to do with the rest of my time on a longer term basis.

Please could you keep all of this, especially St Gabriel’s, in your prayers.  My last service will be Parish Mass at 9.30am on 29th June, followed by a do.  You are very welcome to this.

IMGP0564

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

