Pilgrimpace's Blog


summer reading – 1

One of the beautiful things about summer for me is the space it offers for reading – especially when this involves sitting outside in the shade, book on lap, a happy drink within reach.

IMG_1878

A lovely thing about this blog is the contacts it makes with people throughout the world.  Recently I quoted from Marcelo Figueras’ excellent Argentinian novel Kamchatka.  Cris from Argentina commented on it and I asked her for recommendations of other Argentinian novels.  Here is her reply:

Julio Cortázar and his novel “Rayuela” (Hopscotch) is a classic for us. “But what is memory if not the language of feeling, a dictionary of faces and days and smells which repeat themselves like the verbs and adjectives in a speech, sneaking in behind the thing itself,into the pure present, making us sad or teaching us vicariously…”
Morel´s invention from Adolfo Bioy Casares is a classic too.
Not too famous but awesome for me, have been the novels of Osvaldo Soriano.. “Shadow” (una sombra ya pronto serás -this one has a movie too-) is one I have enjoyed; but also “Winter Quarters” and “Funny Little dirty war” (In Spanish was “No habrá más penas ni olvidos”).
Newer books (or not so, but not as famous/classics) are the ones from Eduardo Sacheri (there is one book that has a movie too “The secrete in their eyes” is a good one, and I have downloaded the most recent one “This was to be happy”, I can tell you later about it!).
I will be happy to talk more! Let me know if you have any tittle or author you are interested, I just listed the ones I think are a “must read” after having read them at different decades of my life (like Julio Cortázar).

Are there any books you would recommend for me to read?  I’d love to hear from you.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh! That’s lovely Andy! Thank you!
I came back today to talk about books again because I remembered another book I thought you might like, it is a novel, but at some point a book of phylosophy too, it’s entitled “Other Inquisitions, Borges and Von Balthasar reciprocal”, the author is Ignacio Navarro (here is a link to the book page: http://www.borgesvonbalthasar.com.ar/2009/09/blog-post.html It is a complex one, it was for me! but a very good book I am sure it will interest you.

And… Cris (Cris M) is a “she” 😉

Warm hugs!
Cris M

Comment by Cris M

Thank you Cris. I am sorry I guessed your gender wrong! I have edited the post now.
And thank you for the book recommendation. I will look out for it.

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

