Pilgrimpace's Blog


advent journey – celebrations
December 19, 2014, 11:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

It was my birthday yesterday.  I would like to thank everyone for all their kind wishes.  The week before Christmas is not the best time for me to have a birthday.  When I was small, the combined excitement of it all was too much.  I have lost something of that with age, and now the week before Christmas is very full.  I was able to enjoy yesterday.  Time with the toddlers and their parents in our Play and Stay Group.  I told the Nativity story and was around to see Father Christmas’ visit there.  Time with various friends and colleagues.  A letter arriving from Meenakshi in Cambodia.  And then a birthday meal with Bharti at Shiraz the excellent Persian Restaurant on Hagley Road next to the Oratory.

165815_423437914363667_1692069941_n

It is very good again to light candles, as it were, during this time and to make sure there is some relaxation and renewal in amongst it all.

I’m looking forward to my post-Christmas break which will include a bit of time on the Camino.  More news on that later – I will live blog it if I can.  I hope it will be better weather than last year’s tremendous winter storms as we struggled out of Coruna!

this appears to be me attempting to get my waterproofs on

this appears to be me attempting to get my waterproofs on

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

many happy returns. you definitely look older in the photo. did i tell you my daughter is off to burkina faso in january? C.

Comment by Chris Fewings

“But I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now.”
Excellent news about Burkino Faso. Let’s catch up after Christmas.

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

