Pilgrimpace's Blog


nature writing – 2
April 16, 2015, 12:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,
Sissinghurst September

Sissinghurst September

Before Easter I posted about the best nature writing books (here).

I’ve been sidetracked by the good and necessary busy-ness of Holy Week and Easter, but I would like to return to this theme a bit over the next weeks.  Thank you to everyone who has suggested favourite nature books.  I’ll compile your suggestions and share them with everyone soon.  If you have a favourite book or books on nature, perhaps you could let me know what it is in the Comments.  I’d love to know.

I’ve been reflecting a bit on the nature writing I like, particularly as I’ve been working in the garden:

I want writing that

doesn’t worry about boundaries between people and nature, urban and rural, domesticated and wild.  I don’t mind if it is nature writing or travel writing or memoir.

It should be good to read. I want it to enrich and enlarge my heart and mind and soul

to take me deep and make me itch to get out

I like it centred on love

love for the world, for the earth

that asks the tough questions about the damage we humans so often do, but which does not hold the urban and the city and the people who live there in contempt

that makes me feel as if my hands have been touching the soil

and which anchors me to this earth and its inhabitants

that is clear eyed and can laugh

.

That will do for a start.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

On Radio 4 at the moment as Book of the Week is “The Shepherd’s Life” by James Rebanks. It’s a great listen but I only heard of it first on Monday so I can’t say how it reads

Comment by Margaret

Well, I feel just the same! Lovely.

Comment by The Solitary Walker

Thank you both. Margaret – I hadn’t heard the Radio 4 book (it’s been on of those very full weeks). I’ll make sure I catch up on Listen Again. I certainly like spoken word as well as that which is read

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

