Pilgrimpace's Blog


circling

I love how the journey circles and twists on itself, forward and back.

wpid-20150627_122622.jpg

I spent this morning with the wonderful folk at St Paul and St Silas, Lozells, preaching at Mass and helping them prepare for Jesus Shaped People which they start next week.  I went from there back to St Gabriel’s, Weoley Castle for the leaving do for Jenny Cavendish, who has been the Children’s Worker there for the past years.  It was very good to be back with everyone there, to find them in good heart as they wait for a new priest, and to see how the life in that special place continues to develop.

wpid-20150627_120453.jpg

On our holiday we visited pilgrim places I have not been to for a couple of decades.  We drove through the narrow and twisting road towards the Pembrokeshire Coast.  I’d checked that the army weren’t firing on the Castlemartin Ranges, and we went past the unmanned checkpoint to the carpark above the cliffs.  We climbed down the stairs to St Govan’s Chapel and Well nestling in the inlet where Govan hid from pirates in Celtic times.  Next year, when I make my pilgrimage round Wales I will divert for a couple of days and spend time here, walking along the Coast Path from Tenby.  It is a place where heaven feels close.

Later, we spent a day in St David’s.  Here is the Cathedral and the restored Shrine:

wpid-20150628_110448.jpg

wpid-20150628_141018.jpg

People keep telling me I need to visit St David’s on my pilgrimage.  I have been hesitating, but I am persuaded now.  I will probably leave the Coast Path at Neyland, soon after St Govan’s Head, and work out an inland path, as this will save a few days.  There is such richness, such possibility ahead.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

