Pilgrimpace's Blog


rooted – an invitation

Rooted: An invitation to explore practically how mysticism feeds and informs Christian social action with Professor Gillian Ahlgren

Tuesday 24th November, 2015 at 7.30pm.

Professor Gillian Ahlgren, theologian and Director of Xavier University’s Institute for Spirituality and Social Justice (Cincinnati, USA) will be leading an evening to help clergy, ministers, church workers and others to reflect on how the Christian Mystical Tradition can inform, feed and galvanise our social action.

Gillian has written extensively on how the vision and practices of the tradition’s great mystics (including Teresa of Avila, John of the Cross, Francis and Clare of Assisi, and Ignatius Loyola) can be used to empower people at the margins.  She is engaged in work with Hispanic women recovering from abuse.

The evening will be at St Bede’s Church in Brandwood

(Doversley Road, Birmingham B14 6NN).

More information from the Revd Andy Delmege, tel 0121 6930217

Please let us know if you can come

71TMbwxXQRL._UY200_

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hope I’ll be there.

Comment by revdamanda

[…] revdamanda on rooted – an invitat… […]

Pingback by santa teresa | Pilgrimpace's Blog

Reblogged this on Pilgrimpace's Blog and commented:

A reminder that this event will be at St Bede’s next Tuesday 24th November. All are very welcome

Comment by pilgrimpace

I’m really sorry but I won’t be able to get to the Rooted event on Tuesday evening. It was a bit ambitious of me to think I could make it and now I will be in York on Tuesday, visiting my son.
I am really interested in mysticism and social action, my sabbatical has sort of led me to look at that. Are there any good reading suggestions please?

Comment by revdamanda

don’t worry. I’ll think about reading and put this into a blog post after Tuesday

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

