Pilgrimpace's Blog


advent journey – 4
December 4, 2015, 7:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I visited Dublin last week to visit Bharti who has a Residency at the Irish Museum of Modern Art.  I was able to combine it with a visit from my friend Gillian Ahlgren and the richness of hearing of her seminars (more on this later).

We visited Kilmainham Gaol.

20151126_101442.jpg

The tour round this was profoundly moving, seeing the cells in which so many people who fought for freedom were held, and chillingly the places of execution of the leaders of the Easter 1916 Uprising.  The deep and beautiful poetry of Yeats and Padraig Pearce were on the walls or in the museum.

20151126_101900.jpg

20151126_105536.jpg

There was an exceptional wall painting by Grace Gifford who married Joseph Plunkett the night before his execution.

20151126_102950.jpg

I am moved by all this.  I also struggle with the use of catholic imagery to justify violence even if it is in a just cause.  I struggle too with nationalism; I want to belong, place is of utter importance to me, I am utterly opposed to all oppression.  But I want non-violence.  This is what I understand.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

