Pilgrimpace's Blog


camp
July 6, 2016, 4:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Towards the end of a hard days’ walk I drew near to the reservoir hoping I would find a place to sleep.

These trees showed a promise.

A little later I cut downhill off the path and found a patch just above the beach in wooded cover. It had been flooded in the winter and the ground was wonderfully soft.

I made a brew and heated food before laying out sleeping bag and mat.  It was a clear night.  Darkness did not fully descend until after 11.

I woke with the light, fetching water to filter from the resevoir.

As I cooked porridge, I heard a tremendous thwacking sound.  A family of otters were running towards me.  They got to within four feet and did a hasty right turn.

I drank tea, put my kit away, shouldered my rucksack and walked on …

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow!

Comment by stephencwinter

[…] I climbed back down into Wharfdale, crossing the river at those exciting, slippery, water covered stepping stones I posted a picture of last week.  I arrived at my Camp – read about the special morning encounter here. […]

Pingback by week | Pilgrimpace's Blog




Leave a Reply

