Pilgrimpace's Blog


week

Last week was a typical one in the life an anglican clergyman.

On Monday I travelled to Ilkley for a residential meeting as we began the work of setting up Jesus Shaped People as a charity.  There was a tremendous amount of good work done in a short time as the Board thought a lot about vision and future tasks.

I then had twenty four hours, so the obvious thing was to walk to Wetherby.  I climbed onto Ilkley Moor and spent the afternoon exploring it

20160705_144311.jpg

You will be relieved to know that I remembered my hat.

I climbed back down into Wharfdale, crossing the river at those exciting, slippery, water covered stepping stones I posted a picture of last week.  I arrived at my Camp – read about the special morning encounter here.

received_1233760959998021.jpeg

A swift morning’s walk (five hours) got me to my destination, Wood Hall Carmel.  Monastic hospitality meant a shower, a very large meal, and a lie down on a comfortable bed.  I am happy as I look forward to my Wales Pilgrimage that my fitness for this walk, carrying a full pack, was reasonable.

In the evening I spoke with the sisters, giving a paper on how the insights of St Teresa and St John are feeding my parish work, especially with people on the edge, and receiving their insights.

Another morning meant another journey.  After Mass, a lift to Wetherby, the bus to Leeds and a train to London to Lambeth Palace for the first meeting of the Church of England Working Group on Estates Evangelism.  Again, this was extremely positive – lots of energy and solid planning to bring as much wisdom, resources and good and creative practice to play on this context as possible.  I’m looking forward to seeing how this works out over the next years – please keep it in your prayers.  (For background on this, click on Estates Ministry in the subject cloud on the left margin of this blog).

And then home.  Good to be back and to have a rest.  And good to be back at St Bede’s for a more normal week of stability.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

