Pilgrimpace's Blog


The Cistercian Way
July 16, 2016, 5:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I am building up for an autumn Sabbatical and a long walking pilgrimage in the autumn.

I will be walking The Cistercian Way around Wales – with a diversion to St Davids when I leave Caldey.

The rough route is here.

route

I will be starting from Penrhys on 3rd September and finishing there in late October.  I have a few fixed points – short stays at the Abbeys at Caldey and Whitland in early September; the Small Pilgrim Places Annual Gathering in Abergavenny on October 15th; a day with the Friends of Tintern Abbey on October 18th.

I will be carrying a tent and look forward to the freedom that gives, but I would welcome offers of places to stay. I would love to connect with churches on the way round.  Please let me know if you can offer a floor or bed, or would like me to meet your Church.

Andy

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like a great pilgrimage you have planned, Andy. It appears you will be passing through some of the areas I was in when I walked most of the Offa’s Dyke path last summer. For what it’s worth, I’ve just posted some photos of that walk on my blog. All the best in your journey . . .

Comment by george

Thanks George – I love your photos. I live relatively close to Shropshire and often walk the hills there.
I’ve also got a few days training for the long walk booked in in a month. Planning to walk from Shrewsbury to Holywell mainly along the Dyke

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

