Pilgrimpace's Blog


reading

The excellent Solitary Walker Blog has recently asked What are you reading?

I would like to ask the same.  I have a pile of books in front of me.  I intend to read some of these over the summer – which is a time when there is a bit more space for reading.

20160727_102507.jpg

These include a collection of Neruda’s poems – I want to see what comes of reading The Ascent of Machu Pichu alongside John of the Cross; Andre Louf’s The Cistercian Way will give insight into Cistercian life and spirituality before I walk the Welsh Cistercian Way; similarly, Sacred Britain by Martin and Nigel Palmer will help me reflect on landscape and pilgrimage; Rita Nakashima Brock’s Journeys by Heart will help me think further on some of the things suggested about transformation and energy by Teresa of Avila.  Solea is an excellent European detective novel.

What are you reading?  I would love to know.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

perhaps you might like to read “In the Footsteps of Saints and Sinners – a History of Llangiwg Church” one of the churches on the way ( located in Pontardawe)

Comment by David

I’ve just started reading “Galileo’s Daughter.” First few pages are fascinating. His father helped developed/create opera. I was surprised to realise that things I assume have always been there, such as opera, have been invented! Our world is shaped by creative people.

Comment by Amanda Cartwright

I read and enjoyed Sacred Britain last year, Andy.

Right now I’m experimenting with Kindle on my mobile for the first time. Getting on quite well with it — it’s good for certain situations. Almost finished Laurie Lee’s excellent if slightly romanticised A Moment of War about his involvement in the Spanish Civil War. Have also downloaded The Brothers Karamazov and Robert Musil’s The Man without Qualities — so plenty to be getting on with! Thanks for the link.

Comment by The Solitary Walker

Thank you everyone – will keep an eye out for the books. It is always good to have recommendations like this.

Robert – I have bought a kindle for when I go walking as it saves weight. As you say, lots of classics available very cheaply. I’m looking forward to carrying it around Wales

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

I’m reading Bruce Chatwin, What am I doing here. Another book for itchy feet.

Comment by inukshukne

Thanks Caroline – not read that for a very long time. Will find it again

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

