Pilgrimpace's Blog


holywell pilgrimage 1

the idea was to walk from Shrewsbury Abbey where St Winefrede’s Shrine was

20160815_104630.jpg

to Holywell where her miracle happened.  About 60 miles, lots of good hills from Oswestry onwards, three long days and two short ones.  For me it was a chance to get match fit for the Cistercian Way in a couple of weeks and to test and overhaul my kit.

We wild camped for all but one night when we stayed in a campsite

20160816_065343.jpg

although one of those nights (with permission and invitation from the owners) was in a summerhouse

20160816_200909.jpg

Roland bearing up under severe privation

I am very glad I did it.  I spent the first couple of very hot days struggling under my pack and telling myself I was a b*****y idiot and the Cistercian Way would be my last walk.  Fitness kicked in and I loved the views and the country

20160818_143510.jpg

Even in the heat and dryness we didn’t need to resort to dog milk (making coffee from a sheep trough doesn’t count, right?) and we were able to test the best cures for dehydration (a pint of water, a pint of light coloured bitter, and a bag of pork scratchings).

20160817_181449.jpg

We ate well (here is Roland demonstrating how to cook with bleach).

20160817_110440.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

