Pilgrimpace's Blog


Day 1: Baptism
September 3, 2016, 5:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I’ve had a few days in Wales preparing for the walk. Good weather, good friendships. Time with Joy and Joe and the pleasure of sleeping in their summer house falling asleep to the sounds of owls and the waterfall


Time learning from and talking with the good folk at llanfair Uniting Church on Penrhys

​Here is John explaining the Penryhs Banner – I was offered its pole as a walking stick, but I will need my two walking poles for my knees.

Jazz and beer on the site of the Martyrdom of St Julius in Caerleon.

Deep hospitality from Maddy and Steve, with a chance to pore over maps and talk the history of the Cistercian Way. 

The mixture of excitement and nervousness before a big pilgrimage, although I have slept well.

And then today. Arriving at Llanfair for Morning Prayer at 9.30. The weather terrible with torrential rain and low cloud. As we climbed the hill from the Church, I was glad that I was walking these first miles with others.

For me, it was fun but tough. The waterproofing on my boots lasted an hour. Paths turned to rivers. Visibility was down to a few yards on the tops.

The day was planned so that people could drop out at various points. We were down to two. At about half way, I decided it would be better to come off the hills as all I would be doing was map and compass work.

The offer of another night in the warm and dry at Maddy’s made my mind up. There was nothing to prove by walking for another few hours along the roads.

I am warm and showered in Tongwynlais watching unrelenting rain through the window.

Tomorrow the forecast is better. I will start from Llangynwyd, walk to Margam Abbey in time for Mass where I will preach and then aim for Neath and beyond.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great to read your blog. You are in our prayers. I am inclined to follow suit but on two wheels! Richard and Mary. (You and Roland slept in our summer House at the end of a very hot day)

Comment by Richard.

Thanks Richard, it is a great route so far. By coincidence I am staying with Roland tonight. If you are around when I am your way again in early/late October, it would be great to meet again, Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

You will be most welcome.
Richard.

Comment by Richard

Andy I am not sure of your route ( and because of all that has happened) whether you will still manage to stop by at ‘Bron Heulog’. We would be delighted to offer you a bed etc. but we are due in Norfolk for a couple of events towards the end of this month and consequently wonder if it will clash. How does it look with you?
We continue to hold you in our prayers,
Richard and Mary.

Comment by Richard

Dear Richard and Mary,
sorry not to have been in touch before. The knee is recovering but still not 100%. I’ve decided to start again at Abergavenny at the weekend (I’ve been invited to a Conference there and then I will be doing a talk at Tintern on Tuesday) so I will plod from there back round to Penrhys in short stages and with a very light pack. This means missing you this time I’m afraid. I want to walk what I’ve missed in weekly sections over the next years, so I’ll be in touch. Thank you for hospitality!

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

