Pilgrimpace's Blog


cistercian way photos 2
September 19, 2016, 5:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

wp-image-1531357282jpg.jpeg

Things you overhear as you begin a long pilgrimage:

“Autumn’s got it’s claws in.”

Two older women at a bus stop complaining how cold it was, that they had the central heating on (I was sweating in a base layer at the time).  I did notice that the trees were beginning to change, the first leaves beginning to fall. Checking that I had packed enough layers, I looked forward to walking into autumn.

wp-image-1766367152jpg.jpeg

I was glad to be beginning around the Nativity of Our Lady.  Here she is at Margam Abbey.  I am glad of her protection and prayers.  I shall get round to Our Lady of Penrhys in the end.  Here, also from Margam, is St Bernard

wp-image-1184795949jpg.jpeg

There were things that made me laugh.  Walking up a track named Mountain Side, I got a walking pole from my pack; it was so steep that I did not need to extend it.  On the outskirts of Swansea, we passed a discrete sign for ‘Whipping Services’; we decided that the pilgrimage was punishing enough.  Sitting next to Laurel and Hardy.

On the train home, the Severn Estuary did it’s best impression of a Turner painting

wp-image-1958724178jpg.jpeg

I am still resting my knee on this pilgrimage that becomes more inward.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Winterpilgrim posted on Sat 27 2008 a very moving post about a pilgrim who never got to his destination physically. Perhaps you could be like the pilgrim who never arrived, at least this time.

Comment by Margaret

Thank you Margaret.
That’s a very beautiful story.
Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a Reply

