Pilgrimpace's Blog


rivers
October 4, 2016, 6:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

I saw this on twitter today and it has made me happy (I hope it is OK to share it here). I haven’t come across EcoRecord before but it’s a great site – look at it here and get involved if you are local.

ct7qco7weaaxdtr

The River Rea runs close to here and I walk or cycle along it often – it’s one of the best cycle routes in the West Midlands.  I saw a kingfisher on it once; I often see a heron (there was a wonderful photo from Simon Foster yesterday of the heron roosting high up in a tree).  I’ve never seen a water vole, but it lifts my spirits to know they are there.  The richness of urban wildlife, at least at this end of the river is a wonderful thing – I don’t think it quite deserves Roy Fisher’s summing up of it in Birmingham River.  Although I’m really looking forward to going to the Cathedral next week for the Roy Fisher Celebration.

And to celebrate all this, tomorrow’s knee-strengthening walk may well be five or six miles along the river.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

