Pilgrimpace's Blog


Hope
November 11, 2016, 7:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Thinking about hope again today as I reflect on all the news. Once more, bel hooks insight that hope is a piece of work and not a state of mind is of deep importance.

The antiphon we sang for the Magnificat this evening for St Martin spoke of him being neither afraid to die nor refusing to live. This seems to me a good place to start work.

​In amongst all the awfulness, I am remembering the vibrant, creative, sacrificial life and work of so many of our estate churches. Something I have shared deeply in this week through the Urban Congress and the NECN Conferences. It is not wishful thinking to see these as profound and godly lights in a deep night. I give thanks for all of you.

If you can read The Church Times this week, there is a good article about Estate Ministry (it features me – I managed to be coherent despite being on pilgrimage in Wales). I will work out a way of sharing this more widely later.

love and prayers

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

