Pilgrimpace's Blog


walking back
November 13, 2016, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

​At the train station the other day, the train on the next platform was for Cardiff. I was very tempted to get on it and start walking again.

I am though spending some time reflecting on the pilgrimage. It has been good to go back through my journal and to listen to my memories, somtimes entering them via an Examen.

I had a rucksack full of people to pray for. I have been praying for them and for you. (If you are a praying person, please remember Jordan and his family and friends).

I am reading. I have enjoyed Maddy Gray’s article Penrhys: The Archaelogy of a Pilgrimage. It has been good to read it again having walked those days from Llantarnam to Penrhys, the geography fresh in my mind.

I have started John Morgans and Peter Noble’s Our Holy Ground: The Welsh Christian Experience. This is excellent and makes past and future pilgrimage deeper.

I am praying through the connections between The Cistercian Way pilgrimage and my wider life and ministry (Penrhys is such a symbolic nexus for all this!). I am brewing a longer version of the talk I gave at Tintern which I will post here.

And I am getting ready to end the Sabbatical and return to work. But not quite yet …

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

