Pilgrimpace's Blog


reading
December 27, 2016, 12:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s that time of year – after the busyness of Christmas a few days to rest.  One of the delights is time for reading for pleasure.  I’ve just started a thriller – John Buchan’s The Blanket of Dark – which should keep me out of mischief for a bit.

I’ve got the Review sections of Weekend newspapers from the past months which I will work my way through.  This is entertaining and appetite whetting – however, I have promised myself not to buy or borrow books in 2017; my pile of Books to be Read is too big – I need to read them before I get more (although there is one book which I will buy if it is published during the next year).

I see a review of Alan Partridge: Nomad.  I haven’t seen this in the lists of New Nature Writing or Travel, but this must be one of the walking books of the year?  I’ll have to wait to find out.

And there are those sentences which make my coffee go everywhere:

One Shropshire squire drank four to six bottles [of port] a day and went up to Cambridge riding a bear

I’d be tempted to follow the British Indian Army’s recipe mentioned in this book for “fixed bayonet” – “a chicken stuffed with chillies and then boiled in rum” – if Jeffreys had not warned his readers: “don’t try this at home”.

from Bernard Porter’s Guardian review of Henry Jeffrey’s Empire of Booze.

I hope you have had a blessed Christmas.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

