Pilgrimpace's Blog


in my end is my beginning
February 24, 2017, 9:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Apologies for being quiet the last few weeks – it’s been a bit full, but plenty to reflect on and now some time for writing a bit.  I have plenty of posts about estates ministry and about pilgrimage forming in my mind.

I went south west this week.  First to Taunton for the excellent Priority Parishes Conference – I’ll post a full report on this later, but good to meet so many estate clergy from the south west and Wales, to see the enthusiasm for this ministry in the Church continuing, and to hear good stories of faithful ministry.

I went straight to the Valleys with my friends Joe and Joy.  Good to catch up again, to sleep in the garden house by the waterfall where I began and ended my pilgrimage, a night of jazz in the pub.

wp-image-617274908jpg.jpeg

In the morning a short journey to meet John and Norah Morgans.  John was the URC Moderator and they then moved onto Penrhys and served the Church at Llanfair.  A wonderful few hours talking the principles and practice of estates ministry; a conversation I will spend a long time living out of.

I arrived at Cardiff Station to find the trains being cancelled in the Storm.  I went back to Joe and Joy’s – there are far worse places to be trapped for the night!  More good talking, Alfie Dog, and then a trip to Caerleon.  St Julian’s Inn, where the carpark is one of the possible sites of the martyrdom of Saints Julius and Aaron, the first British martyrs after Alban.  This was an important place for me to visit before I began The Cistercian Way, as well as a profound morning in Caerleon when I was walking it (here and here).  And into the pub for more beer and jazz.  A good sleep, smooth trains and home.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

