Pilgrimpace's Blog


Franciscan Family
September 23, 2009, 12:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I´m in Quintanar de la Orden.  All going well, although as I´m tired I´ve had a couple of short days – it´ll be back onto stiff mileage tomorrow as I go to Villacanas.

Yesterday I spent the bulk of the day in El Toboso, the centre of Don Quixote country (as well as Graham Greene´s Monseigneur Quixote).  I´d been looking forward to spending time there, and I suppose as these things normally go, it was all a bit of a disappointment.  That was until I popped out for an early evening stroll and found the Clarisses (Poor Claire´s) House, an ancient monastery from the sixteenth century. The door to the entrance hall was open, there was a hatch and a bell to ring if you wanted to buy something.  I pressed the bell.

Now, one of the unexpected delights of the past months at St Bede´s has been the links we have made with the Society of St Francis and that several of us have become Franciscan Companions.  One of the signs of pilgrimage that I am wearing in Spain is a Tau, the Franciscan Cross.

Sor Maria de el Camino (yes, I know) opened the hatch, saw my Tau and was overjoyed.  I only wanted to buy a rosary, but staggered away with a beautiful icon of St Claire and a couple of kilos of biscuits (which I am eating fast to save weight).  It is good to be away from home with the loneliness that brings, yet to be made to feel part of the Franciscan family.  And then the Parish Church was open, and there was Benediction before Mass…

I´m not sure when I´ll be able to post next.  I´m aiming to reach Toledo on Sunday to meet up with Karen and Roy.

IMGP0288


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Question: How does eating biscuits save weight? Bharti.

Comment by pilgrimpace

Roland says it is easier to carry 2 kilos of biscuits internally rather than externally. As a once upon a time long distance walker I must say I agree with him.

Margaret

Comment by Margaret

What can one say to a man who is bravely walking, exploring, risking. Yes – you are a bit of a crazy hero. I hope you continue to have many moments of encounter with love and kindness, that you avoid ditches, and that you get through those biscuits ! Love and Peace Mark

Comment by Mark Coleman

Biscuits now being carried internally. It took three days, but I{ve done it – another Camino achievement!

Comment by pilgrimpace

i prefer donuts myself! BP

Comment by pilgrimpace

I thought i’d check this post out when I saw the title. You’re very lucky. I hope to be able to visit those places one day too. Peace be with you.

Comment by MH

Thanks very much Mike. Yes, one of the gifts I have been given through the Pilgrimage is a much deeper sense of gratitude.

And thanks very much for your blog.

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a comment