Pilgrimpace's Blog


anniversary
September 8, 2010, 12:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

A year ago at first light I left Valencia Cathedral and made my first steps on the Camino de Levante.  Seven weeks and around 650 miles later I arrived in Santiago.  It was one of the best and one of the most difficult things I have done.  Over the next weeks I will be posting some reflections on what the pilgrimage means to me now.

In the meantime, this poem tries to capture the experiences of that first day.  I remember too the Masses in those Parish Churches around Valencia.  Today is the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary and I found myself walking through Mass after Mass in her honour and praise, several days finding the same small group of Dominican sisters in Church, bringing a van packed with young people to celebrate.  At the very beginning of an exceptionally hard week I spent time praying in front of La Mere de Deu de la Salut in Algemesi as I tried to find courage to continue.  At the end of the week I prayed at the statue of Our Lady of the Snows in Chinchilla as I gave thanks for strength I did not know I had.


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Gosh, 1 year already!Andy that is SO hard to believe. But of course the journey continues and you can still feel the Way calling. You have had many changes in your life and I hope many blessings. May they continue.

John

Comment by John

Thanks John – especially for your companionship along the Way.

Comment by pilgrimpace

“I gave thanks for the strength I did not know I had…”

“Pilgrimage, that deep compelling thing…”

I love these two lines, Andy.

Thanks for your comment on my blog. I’ve just made quite a strenuous trek around England’s south west coastline – it could hardly be called a pilgrimage this time. Unless there are pilgrimages to body-boarding beaches and kite-surfing cafes? But a spiritual challenge of sorts. I’ll write about it – if I ever get rid of this energy-sapping virus I’ve come back with!

Comment by The Solitary Walker

Robert, thanks. It’s strange and marvellous isn’t it how, very occasionally, lines like those appear.

Take care of yourself. Rest is the key thing for viruses.

Comment by pilgrimpace

Is the Christ child really giving the thumbs up? As an Australian Christian, this is a very exciting thing. One year on, eh? Wonderful. I’ve just been to a week long summer school in Gabrovo, Bulgaria on the theme of walking. It was artists and scientists for sustainability and social transformation. So rich and inspiring to be with these walkers and pilgrims of different sorts! Bon continuation, Andy . Lucy

Comment by Lucy Ridsdale

Thumbs up it is! They have banners each year for the festa in Algemesi (when they make enormous human towers). If I remember rightly there is a competition for the design.

Let us know more about your summer school.

Comment by pilgrimpace

Congratulations on continuing your camino so successfully on your return home. Yours is a beautiful blog, full of wisdom.

Thanks for sharing your journey with us.
Rebekah

Comment by Rebrites

Wow! Thanks Rebekah – I’ll keep on keeping on

Comment by pilgrimpace

Time certainly flys. I remember having cafe with you when you completed the Camino. At the time you told me you had walked the Levante, but I did not understand the significance. I am now in awe of what you did !!today is one year since I flew from Australia to begin my Camino. I started from SJPP on the 15th. I hope to walk from GRANADA in SEPT 2011. I’M a bit scared of the heat—- how did you manage?
Enjoy your memories. God bless, Sandra

Comment by Sandra O'Connell

Hi Sandra, yes I remember well talking that morning while we waited for the Camino Travel Centre to open. As far as I know the VDLP will be a bit hotter than the route I took from Valencia, where it did not get above the low to mid 30’s, so it’s definitely worth asking advice from people who have walked that route on the Pilgrim Forum. However, I found that I started as it began to get light so I had an hour or two of fast walking before it really heated up; make sure you carry enough water; drink as much water as you can; rest a lot; take a siesta when it is really hot and then walk again later in the day.
It’s good to hear from you – enjoy your memories,

Andy

Comment by pilgrimpace

I think that first anniversary of commencing is very special. And I hope you are also able to remember the stages along the way in these weeks, until you come to the first anniversary of arrival in Santiago!
Margaret

Comment by Kiwinomad

Hi Margaret, yes it is special, isn’t it. I’m making sure I spend a bit of time with my Camino journal, remembering and reflecting, and I hope posts here over the next couple of months will help that process deepen.

Comment by pilgrimpace




Leave a comment